Upgrade or downgrade your billing plan

Campaign Monitor offers three monthly plans, with different feature inclusions for each pricing tier. If you find that needs have changed, it's easy to switch plans. Alternatively, you can pause your plan by switching to pay per campaign billing.

Clients paying for their own account usage do not have permission to switch payment plans. The "Billing" section in a client's account only allows them to view invoices and change or update their credit card details.

Change a client's payment plan

To choose a different payment plan for your client:

  1. Click Clients in the top navigation, then select the relevant client.
  2. Click Settings near the top right and select Client details.
  3. Click Edit next to "Billing & plan."
  4. If you're not currently reselling to the client continue to step 5. Otherwise, you'll first need to click Change next to the plan name at the top left. Select "Choose & set markup" on a new payment plan and follow the on-screen instructions to save the changes.
  5. If you're paying for the client, select "Choose this plan" on a new payment plan and follow the on-screen instructions to save the changes.

To switch from monthly to pay per campaign, click the Pay per campaign link at the bottom of the page.

When billing changes take effect

Billing changes will take effect depending on your action. If you:

  • Upgrade a client's monthly plan — The difference will be charged immediately.
  • Downgrade a client's monthly plan — The account will switch to the new plan when the current billing month finishes.
  • Switch a client from monthly to pay per campaign — The switch to pay per campaign will take effect at the start of your next billing cycle.
  • Switch a client from pay per campaign to monthlyThe change to billing varies, depending on whether you or the client are paying:
    • If you are paying for the client — The first monthly amount will be charged on the date you switched billing methods, with subsequent bills issued monthly.
    • If the client is paying — Monthly billing will begin on the date the first billable action takes place, for example, when a campaign is sent.

Feature downgrades

When you downgrade a monthly plan from Premier to Unlimited, Unlimited to Basic, or from any monthly plan to pay per campaign, you'll lose access to features tied to those higher-priced plans.

Certain areas of your account may be affected when the downgrade takes place and, as a result, features are disabled. For example:

  • Scheduled campaigns
  • Emails containing dynamic content
  • Journeys
  • Engagement segments

Learn more in our guide to managing feature downgrades

Switching back to monthly

If you change your mind after switching from a monthly plan to pay per campaign, you can switch back to the same monthly plan at no extra charge, so long as:

  • You switch back before your original plan's last billing period was due to end.
  • Your client's subscriber count hasn't pushed them up a billing tier.