Unsubscribe settings for lists

By default, when a subscriber opts out from one of your lists, they are automatically unsubscribed from all lists and added to your suppression list. However, you can modify this setting for each list to ensure that unsubscribing from one list does not affect the subscriber's status on others.

Changing Unsubscribe Settings for a List

Permission required to use this feature: lists and subscribers

Steps to Change the Default Unsubscribe Setting

  1. Click on Lists & Subscribers, then select the specific list you wish to edit.
  2. Click Settings in the left menu of that list.
  3. Under Unsubscribe options, click 'Edit' in the Unsubscribe Actions section.
  4. By default this will be set to Remove subscribers from all lists, select the option to Remove subscribers from this list only. Unsubscribe settings for a list
  5. Click Save changes.

When Remove subscribers from this list only is selected, a subscriber who unsubscribes from that list will not be removed from any other lists they are subscribed to, nor will they be added to the suppression list.

Similarly, if a subscriber unsubscribes from another list with the default unsubscribe settings, they will be removed from all other lists that have the same setting, but not from any lists set to Remove subscribers from this list only.

Note that it is possible to import subscribers that are present on the suppression list to a list that is set to Remove subscribers from this list only.

Reset to the default setting

You can revert to the original unsubscribe settings at anytime. If you choose to reset, you will be prompted with two options to cross-check your list against the suppression list.

Two options related to the suppression list

The first option, Add anyone who unsubscribed from this list to the suppression list allows you to automatically add any unsubscribed email addresses to the suppression list.

The second option, Scrub my "Active" subscribers against the suppression list compares all active subscribers with the suppression list. If any matches are found, those email addresses will be unsubscribed.

Customizing the Unsubscribe Success Page

After a subscriber clicks an unsubscribe link, you can configure the success page that displays. There are two options available:

1) Generic Unsubscribe Page (default setting). This is where you can set up an unsubscribe survey.

Thank you page

2) Custom Unsubscribe Success Page. This allows you to redirect subscribers to a personalized unsubscribe success page.

Updating Unsubscribe Page Settings

To update this setting, under Unsubscribe options click 'Edit' within the Unsubscribe page and survey section on the list settings page.

Unsubscribe page and survey