Mark up client prices

If you use Campaign Monitor to offer a service to your clients, you can mark up the prices they pay. Any profit earned above our base prices will be paid to you monthly.

Different pricing can be applied to each client in your account, as explained below. We'll also help you get set up to collect your monthly profits, and answer some frequently asked questions about client billing.

Add markup

There are two steps to increasing prices for a client:

Set up the client to pay

When you first add a new client to your account, you pay on their behalf. To apply markup for a client they need to be paying for their own account usage. Then we can charge and invoice them at the prices you set.

Mark up the client's prices

If you're not already on the client's pricing page:

  1. Click Clients in the top navigation, then select the relevant client.
  2. Open the Settings menu near the top right and click on Client details.
  3. Click on the Edit button within the Billing & plan section.

On the "Set pricing" page, click the "Mark up prices by" dropdown menu and select a percentage to increase prices by. Or, select "Custom" from the menu to edit prices individually. Just click the figures shown on the left, and type in any amount you like.

The mark up prices page, with one of the numbers on the left clicked so it can be edited

When you're done, click Save prices.

Each time your client is required to pay, we'll charge them at the marked-up rate you have specified, and send them a client invoice.

Set up PayPal to collect your profits

Any profits earned are paid to you monthly via PayPal. To set up your account for payments, follow the steps below.

  1. Click your profile image at the top right, then select Billing.
  2. Click Update your PayPal details in the right sidebar (to see the link, you must have at least one client set to pay markup).
  3. In the "Email" field, enter your PayPal account email address, then click Save changes.

At the start of the next month we'll pay you any profits earned this month. If you started earning profit before providing us with your PayPal details, we will also transfer your unpaid profit with the first payment.

PayPal charges a fee when we transfer markup profits to you. It's a percentage of the total, but we cap it at a certain amount and absorb anything above that for you. Look for the section labeled "Paypal expenses" in your invoice each month, which breaks down the fees and markup.

Frequently asked questions

Below are some answers to questions we're commonly asked about marking up prices. For help with something we haven't addressed, please contact us.

If I mark up one client, do I have to mark up all of them?

No. Every client in your account has individual settings for who pays, how they pay, how much they pay, and what currency they pay in.

If I set a client to pay, can I still send on their behalf?

Yes, even if you are logged in as the administrator and send a campaign for them, the marked up price will be charged to their card.

When are profits paid?

Each month we automatically tally up how much you are owed and, on the 5th of the following month, we'll send any profits made to your nominated PayPal address.

If the 5th happens to fall on a holiday or weekend, the payment may come a little earlier or later. Also, if you have different clients paying in different currencies, you'll receive a separate payment for each currency.

Do I have to earn a minimum amount for profits to be paid?

No. Whatever you earn per month, we'll transfer it to you (via PayPal) on the 5th of the following month.

Is there any other way I can get paid, besides PayPal?

No. Currently PayPal is the only profit payment option available.

How can I keep track of what I've earned?

When it's payment time, you'll get an email from us to let you know how much you earned for the month. You can also view your profit history in the Billing section of your account, under "Recent billing transactions".

Get billing activity and profit updates sent to your account email address via RSS. Click your profile image at the top right, select Billing, then click Subscribe below the list of recent billing transactions.